Home » Patriot Ledger features Local 17 Scholarship Awards

Patriot Ledger features Local 17 Scholarship Awards

South Shore students are among 26 recipients receiving more than $100,000 in scholarships from Sheet Metal Workers Local 17.

The scholarship program is 100% percent funded by Local 17 members. Each member contributes 7 cents to the fund for every hour worked. Together, Local 17 members have donated more than $1.9 million in scholarships to students since 1983.

“We’re proud to create opportuni­ties for hardworking students and help put them on the path to success,” Local 17 Business Manager Bob Butler said. “These scholarships are part of Local 17’s commitment to giving back to the communities where our members live and work.”

Local 17 Secretary-Treasurer Rus­sell Bartash said members of three gen­erations of the Hayward family – Bob, Scott and Sean – led the scholarship committee.

“Whether scholarship recipients plan to enroll in a four-year college, community or technical college, the military or go into the building trades, we’re thrilled to continue to lift up students as they strive for success,” Bartash said.

Scholarships are awarded based on performance on the state labor history exam or through a lottery drawing. This year’s scholarships included three memorial scholarships given in honor of longtime Local 17 members Joseph Nigro, Charlie Geary and James Kelly.

Students from Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire and Rhode Island are receiving scholarships this year, ranging from one-time $500 scholarships to four-year scholarships totaling $16,000.

South Shore students receiving scholarships are:

Riley Stewart, Whitman, South Shore Charter School, $16,000; Jes­sica Skinner, Norwell High School, $14,000; Jason McKee, Pembroke High School, $12,000; Amanda Mor­ris, Quincy High School, $10,000; Alyssa Nielson, Halifax, $3,500; Mi­chael Walsh, Marshfield High School, $3,000; Delia Dwan, Hingham High School, $3,000; Braintree’s John Bean, UMass-Dartmouth, and Audrey La­badini, Archbishop Williams, $3,000; Blake Levitts, Randolph, $3,000; Ari­anna Roosa, Rockland, $3,000; and Colin Walsh, Hanover, $3,000.

For information, visit smw17boston.org.