Home » Local 17 Announces Over $100,000 in Scholarships to MA, RI, NH, and ME Students

Local 17 Announces Over $100,000 in Scholarships to MA, RI, NH, and ME Students

We’re proud to create opportunities for hardworking students and help put them on the path to success.

That’s why we’re announcing over $100,000 in scholarships for 26 students to continue their education. Scholarships range from one-time $500 scholarships to four-year scholarships totaling $16,000.

Scholarships are awarded based on performance on the AFL-CIO’s Labor History Exam or through a lottery drawing. This year’s scholarships also include three memorial scholarships given in honor of longtime Local 17 members Joseph J. Nigro, Charlie F. Geary, and James M. Kelly.

Thank you for continuing to fund this program. Local 17 members contribute seven cents to the scholarship fund for every hour we work. Together, we’ve donated more than $1.8 million in scholarships to local students since 1983.

Congratulations to all our winners:

Four Year Scholarship Winners
1st Place – Riley Lyn Stewart, Senior at South Shore Charter School
Robert J. Hayward Scholarship
Amount: $16,000.00 – $4,000 per year
Sponsor: Father, Daniel Stewart

2nd Place – Jessica Skinner, Senior at Norwell High School
Amount: $14,000.00 – $3,500 per year
Sponsor: Father, Stephen Skinner

3rd Place – Jason Willis McKee, Senior at Pembroke High School
Amount: $12,000.00 – $3,000 per year
Sponsor: Father, Kevin McKee

4th Place – Amanda Morris, Senior at Quincy High School
Amount: $10,000.00 – $2,500 per year
Sponsor: Father, Garth Morris


Memorial Scholarship Winners: $3,500 for 1 year
Alyssa Ann Nielson, Student at Framingham State University
Joseph J. Nigro Memorial Scholarship
Sponsor: Father, Kenneth Nielson

Zachary Graczyk, Senior at Tewksbury High School
Charlie F. Geary Memorial Scholarship
Sponsor: Father, Greg Graczyk

Bethany Tetreault, Student at Wheaton College
James M. Kelly Memorial Scholarship
Sponsor: Father, Russell Tetreault


Lottery Scholarship Winners: $3,000 for 1 year
Erin Gustafson, Senior at East Bridgewater High School
Sponsor: Father, Mark Gustafson

Jordan Belanger, Senior at Wells High School
Sponsor: Grandfather, Vincent Franceschini

Matthew Hansen, Student at Syracuse University
Sponsor: Father, Ronald Hansen, Jr.

Jason Whalen, Student at Mass Maritime Academy
Sponsor: Father Glen Whalen

Michael Walsh, Senior at Marshfield High School
Sponsor: Father, Michael Walsh

Colin Walsh, Student at Bentley University
Sponsor: Grandfather, Richard Walsh

Paidin Wilson, Student at Gettysburg College
Sponsor: Grandfather, Thomas McKenna

Delia Dwan, Senior at Hingham High School
Sponsor: Grandfather, Daniel Dwan

Arianna Roosa, Student at University of Las Vegas
Sponsor: Grandfather, Edward Marenburg

Blake Levitts, Student at Boston University
Sponsor: Grandfather, Melvin Levitts

Audrey Labadini, Senior at Archbishop Williams High School
Sponsor: Grandfather, Luis Labadini

Eric Sylvia, Student at UMass Dartmouth
Sponsor: Grandfather, Henry Coache

Jessica Smith, Student at University of Rhode Island
Sponsor: Grandfather, Timothy Harrington

Owen Martell, Student at Middlesex Community College
Sponsor: Father, Daniel Martell

John Bean, Student at UMass Dartmouth
Sponsor: Father, John Bean, Jr.

Kyle Hess, Senior at Bridgewater-Raynham High School
Sponsor: Father, Wayne Hess

Alexis Parliman, Student at University of New Hampshire
Sponsor: Father, William Zyla, Jr.


Alternate Scholarship Winners: $500 for 1 year
1st Alternate – Julia Bonn, Student at Southern New Hampshire University
Sponsor: Father, Frederick Bonn

2nd Alternate – Erin Heffernan, Senior at Wakefield Memorial High School
Sponsor: Grandfather, Joseph Flynn